

Computer Science Education Advisory Commission

Claiborne Building | Thomas Jefferson Room 1-136 | 1201 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 Wednesday, June 28, 2023 | 1:00 p.m.

Committee Members

Chair, Ashley Townsend

Fernando Alegre Ava Cates Dr. Ming-Hsing Chiu Robin Cosenza Rep. Darryl Deshotel Darren Eady Michael Faulk Rep. Lance Harris Paul J. Helton Dr. James Henderson Sen. Sharon Hewitt Regena Landry Robyn Lively Jennifer Merritt Dr. Juana Moreno BESE Member Ronnie Morris Dr. Kim Hunter Reed Chris Rondeau Terrie Sterling Hasan Suzuk Sen. Kirk Talbot Dr. Sudhir Trivedi Dr. Derrick V. Warren

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, if special assistance is needed at this public meeting of LDOE, please notify Sharon Necaise via email at sharon.necaise@la.gov, five business days prior to the public meeting.

Agenda

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of the minutes of the meeting held May 3, 2023
- IV. Consideration of a discussion regarding computer science as a foreign language
- V. Consideration of a report regarding the integration of Artificial Intelligence (AI) into Louisiana's Computer Science Framework
- VI. Consideration of a status report regarding stakeholder feedback
- VII. Consideration of a proposal regarding initial certification of computer science teachers
- VIII. Consideration of a proposal regarding a computer science high school graduation requirement, postsecondary entrance, and eligibility for the Taylor Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS)
- IX. Consideration of a proposal of funding strategies for computer science teacher training and expansion of computer science courses offered in public schools
- X. Consideration of a proposal for technical assistance grants to expand computer science in Louisiana public schools