Louisiana Department of Education Computer Science Education Advisory Commission Wednesday, August 3, 2022 1:30 p.m.

Minutes

The Computer Science Education Advisory Commission met on Wednesday, August 3, 2022, in the Thomas Jefferson Room, located in the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The meeting was called to order at 1:30 p.m. by Sharon Necaise, Presiding Officer. Members present were Fernando Alegre, Darren Eady, Michael Faulk, Paul Helton, Dr. James Henderson, Sen. Sharon Hewitt, Robyn Lively, Dr. Kenya Messer, Dr. Juana Moreno, Linda Morgan, BESE Member Ronnie Morris, Dr. Kim Hunter Reed, Chris Rondeau, Hasan Suzuk, Sen. Kirk Talbot, Ashley Townsend, and Dr. Derrick V. Warren.

Rep. Darryl Deshotel and Kristin Layman were not in attendance.

Robin Consenza served as proxy for Dr. Janet Pope, Dr. Tristen Denley served as proxy for Terrie Sterling, and Mohammad Salam served as proxy for Dr. Sudhir Trivedi.

Also present was the director of LaSTEM, Dr. Clint Coleman.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education was Ashley Townsend.

There were no public comments received.

- On motion of Dr. Kim Hunter Reed, seconded by Dr. Derrick Warren, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission received the report regarding the commission's purpose and a status report regarding Computer Science Education in Louisiana.
- On motion of Dr. Kim Hunter Reed, seconded by Dr. Derrick Warren, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission received the discussion regarding the Commission Goals and Timelines.
- On motion of Senator Sharon Hewitt, seconded by Dr. James Henderson, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission elected Ashley Townsend to serve as chair for FY 2022-2023.
- On motion of Senator Sharon Hewitt, seconded by Dr. Kim Hunter Reed, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission elected Dr. James Henderson to serve as Vice Chair for FY 2022-2023.

With no further business to come before the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission, the meeting was adjourned at 3:45 p.m. by the newly-elected Chair, Ashley Townsend.

