

Computer Science Education Advisory Commission

Minutes

The Computer Science Education Advisory Commission met on Wednesday, February 1, 2023, in the Thomas Jefferson Room, located in the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The meeting was called to order at 1:43 p.m. by Ashley Townsend, Chair. Members present were Fernando Alegre, Dr. Ming-Hsing Chiu, Darren Eady, Michael Faulk, Paul Helton, Regena Landry, Dr. Juana Moreno, BESE Member Ronnie Morris, Chris Rondeau, Terrie Sterling, Hasan Suzuk, and Dr. Sudhir Trivedi.

Dr. Douglas Williams served as proxy for Dr. James Henderson. Shanna Estay served as proxy for Robyn Lively. Robin Cosenza served as proxy for Dr. Janet Pope. Susannah Craig served as proxy for Dr. Kim Hunter Reed.

Ava Cates, Rep. Darryl Deshotel, Rep. Lance Harris, Sen. Sharon Hewitt, Kristin Layman, and Sen. Kirk Talbot were not in attendance.

A quorum was present.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education were Dr. John Underwood and Christy Bellue.

- 1. On motion of Mr. Faulk, seconded by Mr. Helton, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission approved the minutes of the meeting held October 27, 2022.
- 2. On motion of Mr. Eady, seconded by Mr.Morris, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission received the report regarding stakeholder feedback.
- 3. On motion of Mr. Morris, seconded by Ms. Sterling, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission received the report regarding current computer science teacher certification guidelines.

At this point in the meeting, a quorum was no longer present.

4. On motion of Mr. Allegre, seconded by Ms. Landry, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission received the proposed framework for computer science certification and endorsement.

With no further business to come before the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission, the meeting was adjourned at 3:35 p.m.