## Louisiana Department of Education Computer Science Education Commission Thursday, October 27, 2022 1:30 p.m.

## Minutes

The Computer Science Education Commission met on Thursday, October 27, 2022, in the Iowa Room, located in the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The meeting was called to order at 1:27 p.m. by Ms. Ashley Townsend, Chair. Members present were Dr. Juana Moreno, Sen. Sharon Hewitt, Ronnie Morris, Dr. Kim Hunter Reed, Terrie Sterling, Robyn Lively, Chris Rondeau, Fernando Alegre, Dr. James Henderson, Dr. Derrick Warren, Paul Helton, Dr. Sudhir Trivedi, Darren Eady, Linda Morgan, Kristin Layman, Michael Faulk, Hasan Suzuk, Sen. Kirk Talbot, Rep. Lance Harris, Dr. Ming-Hsing Chiu.

Rep. Darryl Deshotel, Ava Cates, and Dr. Janet Pope were not in attendance.

Robin Cosenza served as proxy for Dr. Janet Pope.

Also present were Dr. Denley from the Board of Regents, State Superintendent of Education Dr. Cade Brumley, and Deputy Superintendent of Teaching and Learning Dr. Jenna Chiasson.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education was Dr. John Underwood.

Public comments were received from Kathleen Ulrich and Frank Kidd.

- On motion of Sen. Hewitt, seconded by Dr. Hunter Reed, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission tabled the motion to approve the minutes until printed copies were made available to the members.
- On motion of Mr. Morris, seconded by Dr. Hunter Reed, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission received the status report regarding stakeholder feedback on the current computer landscape.
- On motion of Dr. Hunter Reed, seconded by Dr. Warren, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission received the K-12 Computer Science Framework.
- On motion of Ms. Sterling, seconded by Dr. Hunter Reed, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission recommends that the LDOE utilize the National K-12 Computer Science Framework as a model for development of the Louisiana Computer Science Education Framework.

- At this point in the meeting, the Commission reconsidered the item to approve the minutes.
- On the motion of Dr. Hunter Reed, seconded by Ms. Sterling, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission approved the minutes from the August 3, 2022 meeting.

With no further business to come before the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission, the meeting was adjourned at 3:51 p.m.

