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State Placement Test Overview 
For Students Transferring into Louisiana Public Schools 

Overview 

This document provides test coordinators with important information regarding the administration, scoring and 
reporting of the state placement assessment. Per BESE-approved policy, school systems determine promotion 
and retention for students in grades 3 through 8. Placement decisions for students entering grade 9 will be 
made in accordance with longstanding policy in Bulletin 1566, which includes the option for students to be 
enrolled in transitional grade 9. Pursuant to Bulletin 1566, Chapter 5: §503, students seeking to transfer to a 
public school in grades 5 or 9 from any 
 

• in-state nonpublic school, 

• approved home study program, or 

• out-of-state school, 
 

shall be required to take the English language arts and mathematics portions of the state placement test to 
inform placement decisions and design remediation for students who may need support for the next level of study. 
 

2021-2021 Exception to Policy for One Year 

 

In 2020, the Louisiana legislature passed law which disallows the use of state assessments to make promotion decisions 
in grades 4 and 8 for 2020-2021. While state placement test results can continue to be used to measure the 
performance of students on the Louisiana Student Standards and as a guide for planning remediation, the test results 
cannot be the sole source for promotion decisions. 

 

About the Placement Test 
Test Design 

The state placement test is a computer-based test that is designed to measure students’ knowledge and skills in 
English language arts and mathematics based on the Louisiana Student Standards in grades 4 and 8. The test is 
consistent with the annual LEAP state assessments for grades 3-8.  Both English language arts and mathematics have 
three sessions. Session times can be found in the test administration manual posted in DRC INSIGHT. 
 

Test Administration 
District test coordinators are responsible for managing the state placement test administration in DRC 
INSIGHT.  Test administration should be consistent with LEAP state assessment policy for:  

• Accommodations that are documented on an IEP, IAP or EL checklist  
• Test security as written in Bulletin 111 
• Administration outlined in test coordinator and administrator manuals 

o Maintain time allocations for sessions 
o Monitor students frequently 
o Provide allowable materials (scratch paper, calculators) 

 
The state placement test is available year round. School systems should notify the department at least 30 days 
in advance of any district-planned testing day to ensure scoring and reporting are completed within 4 to 7 days. 
The following resources are available to support district and school test administrators: 

• State Placement Test Administrator Manual 

• State Placement Test Coordinator Manual 

• DRC INSIGHT Portal User Guide 
 

https://www.boarddocs.com/la/bese/Board.nsf/files/ARVRT86AFCB9/%24file/AGII_5.2_B1566_Oct_2017.pdf
https://www.boarddocs.com/la/bese/Board.nsf/files/ARVRT86AFCB9/%24file/AGII_5.2_B1566_Oct_2017.pdf
https://www.drcedirect.com/all/eca-portal-v2-ui/#/products/LA/welcome
https://www.drcedirect.com/all/eca-portal-v2-ui/#/products/LA/welcome
https://www.drcedirect.com/all/eca-portal-v2-ui/#/products/LA/welcome
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Scoring and Reporting 

The state placement test will be scored by DRC, Louisiana’s testing vendor, and will provide results based on the 
same five achievement levels reported for LEAP assessments. School systems will receive the following reports in 
eDIRECT under the Report Delivery tab: 

• Student-Level Report (PDF) 

• District/School File (csv) 

Frequently Asked Questions 
 
What is the placement test? 
The state placement test is a state-administered assessment for students transferring into Louisiana public 
schools and enrolling in grades 5 and 9. Decisions about promotion for all other grades is determined by the 
Pupil Progression Plan of each school system in accordance with state regulations. 

 
If a student takes the LEAP 2025, does he/she have to take the state placement test, also? 
If a student has a current 4th or 8th grade LEAP 2025 test score on record, the LEAP 2025 score shall be used in 
place of the state placement test. The student should not take the state placement test. 
 
Do newly arrived English learners need to take the placement test? 
Yes, school systems should use the results of the test in addition to federal guidelines for ELs to make 
decisions about class and grade placement. Federal guidelines require newly arrived ELs to be placed in their 
age appropriate grade. 
 
Which students must take the state placement tests? 
All public school students should take the LEAP 2025 test during the designated testing window. Nonpublic school, 
home study, and out-of-state transfers enrolling in grades 5 and 9 must take the state placement test if they did not 
participate in the spring test in a current year. 

How will school systems upload students into DRC INSIGHT? 

Students should be added to the system as a new student. If the student has a previously-assigned LASID the 
student should be uploaded with the LASID.  If a student does not have a LASID, the student’s SSN can be used with 
a leading “0”. 

 
Can school systems require home study or nonpublic students to take the spring LEAP 2025 state assessment 
instead of the placement test? 

School systems cannot mandate transferring students seeking enrollment in grades 5 or 9 to participate in the 
spring LEAP 2025 assessment administration if they are not enrolled.  

 School systems are required to allow students transferring from a BESE-approved home study 
program to participate in spring LEAP administration as requested, and they should be tested under 
state contract using the 998 site code.  

 School systems are not required to test students from non-public schools, and there is a fee that is paid 
to the testing vendor for non-public, non-state scholarship school students.  Non-public, non-state 
scholarship students should be tested using the 997 site code. 

 School systems can charge an administration fee up to $ 35.00, which must be reimbursed if the 

https://www.drcedirect.com/all/eca-portal-ui/welcome/LA
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student enrolls in the school system in the fall. School systems can develop an application process to 
allow for reasonable time to make testing arrangements for transferring students.   

 An FAQ for Testing Home Study and  Nonpublic School Students  provides additional details related to 
administration, cost and vendor requirements. 

 

Can public school students take the state placement test? 
Public school students shall take the LEAP 2025 grade level or course assessment. The state placement test 
should only be administered to public school students who had an excused absence from the regular LEAP 
test administration. The state placement test will not be used in any case for accountability purposes. 

What resources are available on promotion guidance? 

The Department provides the following documents to support school systems: 

 Promotion guidance  
 Individual Graduation Plan guidance 

 High School Planning Guidebook 
 
What do I do after I receive the state placement test results?  

 
Bulletin 1566 establishes benchmark assessment requirements for students in grades 3-7 and in grade 8.  

 Students in grades 3-7 must earn an achievement level of BASIC in at least two core academic subjects of 
the four tested: English language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies.  Fourth grade students 
who do not meet this level of performance may be retained or promoted, but in either case, must be 
provided with an individual academic improvement plan (IAIP) that adheres to certain requirements. 
The IAIP must be maintained through each subsequent grade for which the student does not meet the 
benchmark requirement. 

 Students in grade 8 must score at the BASIC achievement level in either English language arts or 
mathematics and APPROACHING BASIC in the other subject in order to be promoted to the ninth grade; 
however, students not meeting the promotion standard after taking the eighth grade state assessments 
may be placed on a high school campus in transitional grade nine. 

 The department created a remediation field on the csv file in DRC INSIGHT that identifies students who 
do not meet established grade level benchmarks. This field can also be used to as part of the April Dunn 
eligibility process. 

 
 

https://www.louisianabelieves.com/docs/default-source/assessment/faq-for-testing-homebound-and-nonpublic-school-students-2016-2017.pdf?sfvrsn=8
https://www.louisianabelieves.com/docs/default-source/assessment/faq-for-testing-homebound-and-nonpublic-school-students-2016-2017.pdf?sfvrsn=8
https://www.louisianabelieves.com/resources/library/school-policy
https://www.louisianabelieves.com/docs/default-source/counselor-toolbox-resources/individual-graduation-plan-guidance-resource.pdf?sfvrsn=22208c1f_26
High%20School%20Planning%20Guidebook

