STUDENTS of the Year

The Louisiana Department of Education proudly announces the 2025 Students of the Year state-level honorees. In conjunction with the Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE), the Department recognizes outstanding fifth, eighth, and twelfth-grade students who have demonstrated excellence in leadership, academic performance, achievements, citizenship, and service to the school and community through the Students of the Year program.

All Students of the Year state-level honorees were celebrated and honored at the 2025 Students of the Year Award Ceremony at Louisiana State University's Lod Cook Alumni Center on May 16.

Congratulations to these outstanding students!

2025 ELEMENTARY SCHOOL STUDENT OF THE YEAR



Mary Mack Thornton
Caddo Parish

Mary Mack Thornton attends Eden Gardens Fundamental Elementary Magnet in Caddo Parish (BESE District 4). Thornton excels both in and outside of the classroom. Along with being a team member for the All-American Cheer Team, she serves as a team captain for her competitive travel team for soccer and assists with coaching younger players. Thornton was the first to be named Competitive Girl Player of the Month by the Caddo Bossier Soccer Association. She is a member of the Student Lighthouse Team for her school and credits the experience for lessons on communicating effectively and serving within her community. An issue that is important to her is childhood health and physical fitness. She believes "learning healthy habits at a young age will help students stay on track for a lifetime." Thornton aspires to be an otolaryngologist (ENT) and states, "The road to becoming a physician is hard and long, but I am up for the challenge!"

2025 MIDDLE SCHOOL STUDENT OF THE YEAR



Rylann Renee Viator
Vermilion Parish

Rylann Renee Viator attends Erath Middle School in Vermilion Parish (BESE District 7), where she excels academically while serving as the Student Council President and the vice president of her school's BETA Club. She is also the treasurer for the 4-H Club. Viator states. "As a school leader, I have learned the importance of promoting school pride in others, working as a team to achieve successful changes, and sharing my positivity with my peers." In addition, Viator is on the dance team, track team, and is a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. Outside of school, Viator plays softball, is a competitive dancer, and serves as a dance class assistant for younger dancers. Viator wants to pursue a career as an occupational therapist because she wants "to make a difference in people's lives by helping them retain their independence and confidence." An issue that she is passionate about is the responsible use of social media.

2025 HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT OF THE YEAR



Meal Pramod Tandon
Jefferson Parish

Neal Pramod Tandon attends Haynes Academy School for Advanced Studies in Jefferson Parish (BESE District 1). Along with many academic accolades, Tandon was selected as one of Louisiana's representatives for the **U.S. Senate Youth Program**. Tandon serves as the secretary-general (president) of the Louisiana YMCA Youth and Government Model United Nations Program, is the copresident of the Haynes Quizbowl Team, and has performed in theater productions at his school. He is the co-president of Hayne's Bollywood and Bhangra Club, where he helps create choreography for performances. Tandon is a Louisiana Legislative Youth Advisory Council member who worked on HB 577, which prohibits "social media companies from collecting data to use for targeted advertising to minors." The bill was recently signed into law. His past experiences from hurricanes fuel his dedication to community service, and he states, "I've learned that the health of society stems from the strength of a community, forged through the bonds of rebuilding."

2025 STUDENTS OF THE YEAR GRADE 5 FINALISTS



Oliver Paul Richard Calcasieu Parish



Zoey Olivia Jenkins East Baton Rouge Parish



Aly Lea May Ouachita Parish



Brynlee Elizabeth Perez St. Charles Parish



Elizabeth Guidry St. Martin Parish

Anniston



Lauren Kay Singleton St. Tammany Parish



Kai Ava-Jrew ButlerWest Baton
Rouge Parish

2025 STUDENTS OF THE YEAR GRADE 8 FINALISTS



Janiya Amani Belle Algiers Charter School Association



Brielle Taylor Poche' Ascension Parish



Lily Lynne KeesBossier
Parish



Bernadine Dixon Lincoln Parish

Avery



Christopher James Godso III Livingston Parish



Ramy D. Dali St. Bernard Parish



Jayden Michael Gardere The Willow School

2025 STUDENTS OF THE YEAR GRADE 12 FINALISTS



Marlie Blair McLellan Ascension Parish



Akshita Sridhar

Benjamin

Franklin High

School



Kylie Marie

Small Bossier Parish



Walker John Prejean Lafayette Parish



Colton Charles Brasher Ouachita

Parish



Trey Matthew Meyers St. Bernard Parish



Louise Rian Clark West Baton Rouge Parish

Krishawndalyn

