

The Department is excited to announce the nine finalists for the New Teacher of the Year award. These amazing educators have demonstrated excellence in their very first year in the classroom. Finalists will participate in an interview process, and the overall New Teacher of the Year will be announced at the 19th Annual Excellent Educators Awards Gala that will be held on the evening of July 26, 2025. This exciting event is co-sponsored by Dream Teachers. Please congratulate this outstanding group of new teachers!

Category	Name	District
Elementary	Savannah Richards	Concordia Parish
Elementary	Alaina LeBlanc	Lafourche Parish
Elementary	Kalyn Metcalfe	West Feliciana Parish
Middle	Michael Shelton	Bossier Parish
Middle	Colin Hyatt	Calcasieu Parish
Middle	Leah Maldonado	Ouachita Parish
High	Olivia Francois	Ascension Parish
High	Anna Jackson	DeSoto Parish
High	Jacob Church	West Feliciana Parish

