PROPOSED REVISIONS

Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early Learning Center Licensing Regulations

8103. Definitions

Child Day Care Center—pursuant to R.S. 17:407.33(3),
any place or center operated by any institution, political
subdivision, society, agency, corporation, person or persons,
or any other group for the purpose of providing care,
supervision, and guidance of seven or more children, not
including those related to the caregiver, unaccompanied by

parent or legal custodian, on a regular basis for at least 12
1/2 hours in a continuous 7-day week.

Key Orientation Training Module 1—a self-paced, online

training provided by the department for new early learning
staff that addresses early childhood professionalism, health
and safety, licensing and hazards.

Key Orientation Training Module 2—a self-paced, online
training provided by the department for new early learning
staff that addresses child development, early learning and
development standards (ELDS), and learning activities.

Key Orientation Training Module 3—a self-paced, online
training provided by the department for new early learning
staff that addresses teacher-child interaction, child guidance,
and classroom management.

Office of Public Health—Louisiana Department of Health
(LDH) and-Hespitals, Office of Public Health.

ight 1o Review. (RTR)—a certitied-copy of an-individual’s
persel ||al GIHHFI ak-history-tnformation fecord ebta; ed-by 4 el

Student Trainee—a student who is at least age 16 and
present in the center as an educational course requirement. A
student trainee shall not be left alone with children and shall
not be counted in the child to staff ratio.

Transportation—the  arranging or  providing  of
transportation of children, whether center-provided,—parent-
provided; or contract-provided, for any reason, including
daily transportation, transportation for field trips,_including
parent-provided transportation for field trips, or
transportation for any other activity that takes place away
from the licensed center.

Written—includes electronic form.

8303. Exemptions from Licensure
A—C.

D. Nothing in this bulletin shall apply to children in
programs licensed or operated by the Louisiana Department
of Health_(LDH), and-Hespitals (BHH)-er the Department of
Children and Family Services (DCFS), and the US
Department of Defense.

8701. Initial Application Process
A.-D..c.

2. If the application is complete, the department will
notify the applicant and will request the Office of State Fire
Marshall, city fire (if applicable), Louisiana Department of
Health Office—of Public-Health, and its academic approval
section to make an inspection of the center, as per their
standards. However, it is the applicant’s responsibility to
obtain these inspections and approvals.

D.-E.

8703. Initial Inspection Process

A. An initial licensing inspection, including a
measurement of the indoor and outdoor enclosed space, shall
be conducted at the center to assure compliance with all
licensing laws, regulations and minimum standards.

1. If the center in operation is in violation of the law,

the—nitial-licensing-inspection-shall-not-be-conducted, the
application shall may be denied and the department shak

may pursue appropriate legal remedies.
8709. \Validity of Licenses
A -G

H. AIll new construction or renovation of a center
requires approval from the Office of State Fire Marshal, the
Office-of Public Health Louisiana Department of Health and
the department prior to occupying the new or renovated
space

I. A single license may be issued for a center with
multiple buildings at the same location at the sole discretion
of the department.
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8903. Change of Ownership
A—B.

C. Any of the following shall may constitute a change of
ownership:

81103.Critical Incidents and Required Notifications

A. An early learning center shall make immediate
notification to emergency personnel, law enforcement as
applicable, and other appropriate agencies for the following
types of critical incidents involving children in care:

1. death;

2. serious injury or illness that required medical
attention;

in—LAC 511105 and-a child left unsupervised for any
amount of time;

4. use of prohibited behavior management as
described in 81509.A.8.b;

5. allegations or suspicion of child abuse or neglect by
center staff;

6. an accident involving the transportation of children;

or

7. any other significant event relating to the health,
safety, or well-being of any child, including but not limited
to a lost child, an emergency situation, fire or other structural
damage, or closure of the center.

B. The parent shall be contacted immediately following
any immediate notifications made under Subsection A.

C. The department and other appropriate agencies, such
as DCFS, LDH and the Office of State Fire Marshall, as
applicable, shall be notified via email within 24 hours of the
incident.

81105. Identified Violations and Fines
A.—A5

B. Where such a violation does not result in the
revocation of or refusal to renew a license, the department
shall-may issue a written warning/notice of violation of the
standards listed in Subsection A of this Section that shah
may include:

B.1-B.2.

C. Second Violation or Deficiency. If the CAP is not
timely implemented or if a second violation related to the
same standard occurs within a 24-month period and does not
result in the revocation of or refusal to renew a license, the
department shal may issue a written notice of violation that:

81305. Posting of Notice of Revocation_or Refusal to
Renew

A. The department shall prominently post notice of a
revocation or refusal to renew action at each public entrance
of the center within one business day of such action.

B. Such notice of revocation or refusal to renew shall
remain posted and visible to parents of children at the center
throughout the pendency of any appeals of the revocation.

C. The center shall not permit the destruction or removal
of a notice of revocation or refusal to renew action and shall
ensure that the notice continues to be visible to any person
entering the center throughout the pendency of any appeals.

81507. Daily Attendance Records

F. Records Retention. Daily attendance records shall be
maintained on site for three two years and shall be available
for inspection, whether as hard copies or in electronic form,
upon request by the department.

81509. Policies

A. An early learning center shall establish in writing,
prominently post or show parent’s signature of receipt, and
implement, and follow, the following policies and-minkmum

. f cuch bolicies:

1. child abuse and neglect policy:

a. as mandated reporters, all staff and owners shall
report any suspected allegation or suspicion of abuse or
neglect of a child to the Louisiana Child Protection
Statewide Hotline (855) 4LA-KIDS [(855) 452-5437];

81515. Child Records and Cumulative Files
A -Ald.

g any special concerns, including but not limited to
allergies, chronic illnesses, and any special needs of the
child, if applicable; and

hf. any special dietary needs, restrictions or food
allergies or intolerances, if applicable. See Paragraph 4;

A2-C.

D. Retention of Records. Records of children shall be
maintained by a center for a minimum of three two years
from the date of termination of the child’s enrollment at the
center and shall be available for on-site inspection, whether
as hard copies or in electronic form, upon request by the

department.

§1711. Child-to-Staff Minimum Ratios

A. Child to staff ratios are established to ensure the
safety of all children.

B. Minimum child to staff ratios shall be met at all times.

1. There shall be a minimum of two staff members
present at an early learning center when more than ene-child
is four children are present.
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81715. Staff Records and Personnel Files
A. -Al4

B. Records Retention. Staff records and personnel files
shall be maintained for a minimum of three two years from
the date of termination of employment and shall be available
for on-site inspection, whether as hard copies or in electronic
form, upon request by the department.

81717. Records for Independent Contractors and
Student Trainees

A.-B.3.

C. Records Retention. Records for independent
contractors and student trainees shall be maintained for a
minimum of three two years from the date the contractor or
student was last present at the center and shall be available
for on-site inspection, whether as hard copies or in electronic
form, upon request by the department.

1719. Orientation Training

A. Within seven calendar days of the first day present at
the center, and prior to assuming sole responsibility for any
children, each staff member shall receive center-specific
orientation to the policies and practices of the center that at a
minimum shall include information on the center’s:

1. child abuse identification and reporting, including
phone numbers for mandatory reporting and suspected child
abuse and neglect;

2. location of emergency preparation; exits and site-
specific emergency preparedness plans;

ST . lations:
3.  handling of emergencies due to food/allergic
reactions;

4. location of first aid supplies;

5. list of children with allergies and special needs;

6. identification of critical staff including but not limited
to staff trained in CPR and first aid and staff who can
administer medicine;

7. child release policies and restrictions;

8. child-to-staff ratio policies;

9. daily schedules;

10. opening policy;

11. closing policy; and

12. transportation policy and vehicle inspection
procedures.

B. Within seven calendar days of the first day present at
the center, and prior to assuming sole responsibility for any
children, each staff member shall complete the department’s
Key Training Module 1 and the DCFS online Mandated

Reporter Training. Key Training Module 1 shall at a
minimum include information on the following:

1. general emergency preparedness, including natural
disasters and man-caused events;

2. professionalism;

3. health and safety, which includes: daily observations,
supervision regulations, daily attendance, child to staff
ratios, improper discipline, prohibited discipline, prevention
of shaken baby syndrome, prevention of abusive head
trauma and child maltreatment, food safety, choking risks
recognition and reporting of child abuse and neglect;

4. administration of medication consistent with standards
for parental consent;

5. prevention and response to emergencies due to food
and allergic reactions;

6. appropriate precautions in_transporting children, if
applicable;

7. _public health policies, prevention and control of
infectious diseases, including immunization information;

8. handling and storage of hazardous materials and the
appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

9. pediatric first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation

(CPR);

10. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use
of safe sleep practices;

11. outdoor play practices;

12. environmental safety; and

13. building and physical premises safety, including
identification of and protection from hazards, bodies of
water and vehicular traffic;

14. child release practices; and

15. critical incident practices and licensing regulations.

C. Within 30 calendar days of date-ef-hire the first day
present at the center and prior to assuming sole
responsibility for any children, each staff member shall

the—center complete the department’s Key Orientation
Training Modules 2 and 3, that at a minimum shall include
information on the following:

1. child development;

2. child guidance;

3. learning activities;

4. health and safety; and

5. shaken-babyprevention early learning development
standards:and.
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€D. All staff members responsible for transporting
children shall receive additional orientation training in the
following areas prior to assuming their transportation duties:

C1.-Cb5.

E. For the purposes ef-Subsection-B of this Section,
certification  documentation of completion of the
department’s Key Training Modules 1, 2 and 3 and the
DCFS Mandated Reporter training shall be sufficient. shall

be-acceptable-documentation:
81721. Continuing Education
A -G

H. Copies of certificates of completion or transcripts
shall be maintained at the center and shall be available for
on-site inspection, whether as hard copies or in electronic

form, by the licensing-division department upon request.
§1723. CPR and First Aid Certifications
A.-D.

E. Certification. A copy of the certification for each such
staff member shall be on-site at all times and available for
inspection, whether as hard copies or in electronic form,
upon request by the department.

81725. Medication Management Training
A.-C.

D. Documentation of current completion of such training
shall be maintained by the center and shall be available for
on-site_inspection, whether as hard copies or in electronic
form, upon request by the department.

81727. Child Neglect and Abuse Mandatory Reporter
Training

A. All staff members shall annually complete the online
child abuse and neglect Mandated Reporter Training
provided by DCFS.

B. Documentation of completion of this course shall be
maintained by the center for all staff and shall be available
for on-site inspection, whether as hard copies or in electronic
form, upon request by the department.

81805. Persons Ineligible for Child Care Purposes
A.-B.1

C. A person may also be ineligible for child care
purposes if upon the department’s request for information
from another state, municipality or federal agency, the
department receives from the state, municipality or federal
agency written notice that the person’s name is recorded on
that state’s registry or repository of child abuse and neglect
as having a finding of child abuse or neglect or written
notice that the person has been convicted of or plead guilty
or nolo contendere to any of the crimes listed in R.S.
15:587.1(C), or those of a jurisdiction other than Louisiana
which would constitute a crime under the provisions cited in
R.S. 15:587.1(C), or is otherwise ineligible for child care
purposes.

81811. Requests for CCCBC-Based Determinations of
Eligibility for Child Care Purposes from the
Department

A.-D.2.g.

3. The center shall have a log, either handwritten or in
electronic form, or other written documentation of the
monitoring of provisionally-employed staff members that
identifies each provisionally-employed staff member, the
designated monitor for each, and the times of the visual
observations.
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department for-a-delermination-of eligibility-and the-person
IF.Q whom it wals |.eq_ueste|el |as. tirmely—submitied—his

81901. General Safety Requirements
A. Telephones and Emergency Numbers

1. A dedicated working phone, with a number
dedicated to the center, that is capable of incoming and
outgoing calls shall be readily available at the center at all

times. Gellularphenes-are-not-acceptableforthis-purpese:

2. When a center has multiple buildings and does not
have a dedicated—a phone is—net-located in each building
where children are present, the center shall establish and
follow written procedures for securing emergency help. The
written procedures shall be posted in each building.

81907. Furnishings and Equipment
A.-C.1

2. Individual sleeping accommodations shall be
assigned to a child on a permanent basis and labeled, urless
the—cots—ormats—are-and the cots, cribs and mats shall be
sanitized daily.

§1911. Care of Children
A.-D.

E. Daily Reports for Infants. Written or electronic
reports that include the liquid intake, food intake,
disposition, bowel movements and eating and sleeping
patterns shall be given to the parents of infants on a daily
basis. Reports shall be kept current throughout the day.

81919. Food Service and Nutrition
A.—-B.1.

2. be prominently posted, written or electronically, by
the first day of each week and remain posted throughout the
week; and

3. have substitutions or additions posted, written or
electronically, on or near the menu.

§2105. Field Trips
A.-D.

E. A written or electronic record for each field trip shall
be maintained and shall include the following:
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	§1721. Continuing Education
	A. – G.
	H. Copies of certificates of completion or transcripts shall be maintained at the center and shall be available for on-site inspection, whether as hard copies or in electronic form, by the licensing division department upon request.

	§1723. CPR and First Aid Certifications
	A. –D.
	E. Certification. A copy of the certification for each such staff member shall be on-site at all times and available for inspection, whether as hard copies or in electronic form, upon request by the department.

	§1725. Medication Management Training
	A. – C.
	D.  Documentation of current completion of such training shall be maintained by the center and shall be available for on-site inspection, whether as hard copies or in electronic form, upon request by the department.

	§1727. Child Neglect and Abuse Mandatory Reporter Training
	A.   All staff members shall annually complete the online child abuse and neglect Mandated Reporter Training provided by DCFS.
	B.  Documentation of completion of this course shall be maintained by the center for all staff and shall be available for on-site inspection, whether as hard copies or in electronic form, upon request by the department.
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	A. – D.2.g.
	3. The center shall have a log, either handwritten or in electronic form, or other written documentation of the monitoring of provisionally-employed staff members that identifies each provisionally-employed staff member, the designated monitor for eac...


	§1813. Transitional Provisions for Newly Required CCCBC-Based Determinations of Eligibility
	A. CBCs and CCCBCs
	1. Prior to March 1, 2018, an early learning center was required to obtain a criminal background check (CBC) from the Louisiana bureau for all owners, volunteers, staff members, employees, and independent contractors of any kind, and entities identifi...
	2. Effective March 1, 2018, an early learning center must obtain a child care criminal background check (CCCBC)-based determination of eligibility for child care purposes from the department for all owners, volunteers, staff members, employees, and in...

	B. New Hires and Others for whom a Center or an Entity Identified in §1809 Does Not Have an Existing Satisfactory CBC on March 1, 2018
	1. An early learning center shall obtain a CCCBC-based determination of eligibility for child care purposes from the department for each owner, operator, volunteer, staff member, employee, visitor and independent contractor, and applicants for such po...
	2. An entity identified in §1809 shall obtain a new CCCBC-based determination of eligibility for child care purposes from the department for each employee and contract employee who provides services in early learning centers when children are present ...

	C. Existing Owners, Staff and Others for whom an Early Learning Center Has an Existing Satisfactory CBC on March 1, 2018
	1. An early learning center that has an existing satisfactory CBC on March 1, 2018, for persons who are continuing to provide services at the center, shall be required to request a new CCCBC-based determination of eligibility for child care purposes f...
	a. between April 1 and May 31, 2018 for all owners, operators, directors, director designees and staff in charge of any early learning center;
	b. between May 1 and June 30, 2018 for any volunteers and staff members employed at the center for five or more years;
	c. between June 1 and July 31, 2018 for any volunteers and staff members employed at the center between two and five years, and all visitors and independent contractors, including those independent contractors with CBC affidavits and CBC annual letter...
	d. between July 1 and August 31, 2018 for any volunteers and staff members employed at the center for two years or less.

	2. A center’s existing, satisfactory CBC on March 1, 2018, for a person who is continuing to provide services to the center, shall remain valid until the center receives the new CCCBC-based determination of eligibility for child care purposes for the ...

	D. Existing Employees and Contract Employees for whom an Entity Identified in §1809 has an Existing Satisfactory CBC on March 1, 2018
	1. An entity identified in §1809 that has an existing satisfactory CBC on March 1, 2018 for persons who are continuing to provide services in early learning centers when children are present, shall be required to request new CCCBC-based determination ...
	2. An entity’s existing, satisfactory CBC on March 1, 2018, for a person who is continuing to provide services in early learning centers when children are present, shall remain valid until the entity receives the new CCCBC-based determination of eligi...


	§1901. General Safety Requirements
	A. Telephones and Emergency Numbers
	1. A dedicated working phone, with a number dedicated to the center, that is capable of incoming and outgoing calls shall be readily available at the center at all times. Cellular phones are not acceptable for this purpose.
	2. When a center has multiple buildings and does not have a dedicated a phone is not located in each building where children are present, the center shall establish and follow written procedures for securing emergency help. The written procedures shal...


	§1907. Furnishings and Equipment
	A. – C.1.
	2. Individual sleeping accommodations shall be assigned to a child on a permanent basis and labeled, unless the cots or mats are and the cots, cribs and mats shall be sanitized daily.


	§1911. Care of Children
	A. – D.
	E. Daily Reports for Infants. Written or electronic reports that include the liquid intake, food intake, disposition, bowel movements and eating and sleeping patterns shall be given to the parents of infants on a daily basis. Reports shall be kept cur...

	§1919. Food Service and Nutrition
	A. – B.1.
	2. be prominently posted, written or electronically, by the first day of each week and remain posted throughout the week; and
	3. have substitutions or additions posted, written or electronically, on or near the menu.

	§2105. Field Trips
	A. – D.
	E. A written or electronic record for each field trip shall be maintained and shall include the following:



