

#### Teaching and Learning, Early Childhood Care and Education

## Early Childhood Care and Education Commission

Claiborne Building | Thomas Jefferson Room 1-136 | 1201 N. Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 | Tuesday, November 28, 2023 | 10:00 a.m.

## **Commission Members**

Co-Chairs, Sen. Mizell and Rep. Hilferty

Sen. Regina Barrow Maria Blanco Susannah Boudreaux Toni Buxton Dr. Jenna Chiasson Dr. Susannah Craig Dr. Cynthia D. DiCarlo First Lady Donna Edwards Lindsey Fisher Rep. Barbara Freiberg Dionne Frost Anya Glusman Melissa Goudeau Sherry Guarisco Mattilyn Karst Ruth Lawson Michael Melerine Yolanda Motley Dr. Keith Perrin Pheriche Perkins Dr. Paula Polito Caitlyn Robinson Monique Rouege Cindy Rushing Monique Scott-Spaulding Dr. Kenyetta Nelson-Smith Liz Smith Dr. Libbie Sonnier Melissa Stilley Judy Thompson Michael Tipton Nancy Tooraen Allison Trigg Lindsay Vicknair Kahree Wahid

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, if special assistance is needed at this public meeting of the LDOE, please notify Claudette Jones via email at <u>Claudette.Jones@La.Gov</u>, at least five business days prior to the public meeting.

#### Agenda

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of the minutes of meeting held September 25, 2023
- IV. Consideration of a discussion regarding recommendations and content for the Spring 2024 Commission Report



#### Teaching and Learning, Early Childhood Care and Education

# Early Childhood Care and Education Commission Meeting

### Minutes

The Early Childhood Care and Education Commission met on Monday, September 25, 2023, in the Thomas Jefferson Room, located in the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The meeting was called to order at 1:12pm Members present were: Mattilyn Karst, Susannah Boudreaux, Toni Buxton, Dr. Jenna Chiasson, Lindsey Fisher, Representative Barbara Freiberg, Melissa Goudeau, Sherry Guariso, Dr. Cynthia DiCarlo, Anya Glusman, Representative Stephanie Hilferty, Dr. Keith Perrin, Pheriche Perkins, Caitlyn Robinson, Dr. Libbie Sonnier, Michael Tipton, Nancy Tooraen, Allison Trigg, Lindsey Vicknair, and Kahree Wahid.

#### Michelle Demeulenaere served as proxy for Dr. Susannah Craig.

Maria Blanco, Sen. Regina Barrow, Dr. Susannah Craig, First Lady Donna Edwards, Dionne Frosl found it, I was under La. Dept. of Edu. ECCE Commission. I am sorry for the inconvenience. t, Ruth Lawson, Michael Melerine, Senator Beth Mizell, Yolanda Motley, Paula Polito, Monique Rouege, Cindy Rushing, Monique Scott-Spaulding, Liz Smith, Melissa Stilley, Dr. Kenyetta Nelson-Smith, and Judy Thompson were not in attendance.

#### A quorum was present.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education was Karen Powell.

- 1. On motion of Paula Polito, seconded by Michael Tipton, the Early Childhood Care and Education Commission approved the minutes of the meeting held September 25, 2023.
- 2. On motion of Paula Polito, seconded by Michael Tipton, the Early Childhood Care and Education Commission received consideration of an updated report regarding the 2022-2023 Commission work and 2023 Regular Legislative Session

With no further business to come before the Early Childhood Care and Education Commission, the meeting was adjourned at 2:15 p.m.