



CCAP PROVIDER TYPES

• Type III

- To be eligible for participation in CCAP, a center must obtain Academic Approval, possess a Type III Early Childhood Center License, and complete a Type III Early Learning Center CCAP application. The application packet includes instructions and forms for obtaining Academic Approval and applying for CCAP.
- Academic Approval:
 - Academic approval is required for centers that receive or are authorized to receive public funds in accordance with licensing regulations (<u>Bulletin 137</u>).
 - Centers that do not receive public funds can apply as a Type I or Type II centers through the LDE Licensing Section process and are not subject to academic approval.
 - Louisiana law establishes that publicly-funded centers must meet the performance and academic standards of the Early Childhood Care and Education Network regarding kindergarten readiness as determined by BESE (R.S. 17:407.36(C))
 - BESE defines specific performance and academic expectations in Bulletin 140.
 - Academic approval shall be granted for each fiscal year to Type III early learning centers that have submitted a signed copy of Program Partner Profile and Assurances (Assurances) which require the following:
 - Membership in the community network;
 - Participation in the early childhood care and education accountability system
 - Participation in the coordinated enrollment process
 - Academic approvals will be valid from July 1 June 30 of each academic fiscal year, as long as centers continue to comply with all Community Network requirements

• Family Child Care Provider

- A Family Child Care Provider is one or more individuals who provide child care services for fewer than 24 hours per day per child, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the nature of the parent's work, for six or fewer children in a private residence other than the residence of the child(ren) for whom care is given. The provider must care for no more than six children including the provider's own children and any other children living at the residence who are under age 13, or age 13 through 17, if special needs. The provider must be 18 years of age or older, not live at the same residence as the child(ren) for whom care is being provided or share the case head of household's mailing address (with the exception of a P.O. Box), and meet all registration requirements of the Louisiana Department of Education.
- The provider must ensure that a working telephone that can receive incoming calls and can send outgoing calls is accessible at all times in the home in which care is being provided The provider must also provide a current email address.

In-Home Providers (Providing Care in Child(ren)'s Home

• An In-Home provider cares for children in the children's home. The provider must be 18 years of age or older, not live at the same residence as the child(ren) for who care is being provided or share the case head of household's mailing address (with the exception of a P.O. Box). The provider must only care for the children who live at the residence in which care is being provided, and meet all registration requirements of the Louisiana Department of Education.





- An In-Home provider must be the sole caregiver for the child(ren) during the hours the provider is certified to provide care. An In-Home provider may not employ anyone to care for the child(ren). The provider must ensure that a working telephone that can receive incoming calls and can send outgoing calls is accessible at all times in the home in which care is being provided. The provider must also provide a current email address.
- School Child Care Center

School Child Care Centers must be regulated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) and the school must be Brumfield vs. Dodd approved if a non-public school. They may operate kindergarten, before-and-after school, or summer care programs and charge for these services.

• Military Child Care Center

Military Child Care Centers are child care facilities that are licensed by the Department of Defense. They are not licensed or regulated by the LDE Licensing Section. To be eligible for participation in CCAP, a facility licensed by the Department of Defense must complete a Military Child Care Center Application packet.