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The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) is a law that ensures all children with disabilities are eligible to
receive a free and appropriate education through special education services. Infants and toddlers until the age of 3

receive early intervention services under IDEA Part C (Early Steps). Children ages 3 through 5 receive special education
and related services under IDEA Part B (Child Find).

Learn the Signs. Act Early. (LTSAE) is a federally mandated program of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
(CDC) that encourages parents of children ages birth to 5 years and providers who care for them to:

e |earn the signs of healthy development

® monitor every child’s early development; and

® act early on possible developmental concerns: talk with doctors and ask for developmental screening.

The materials provided by LTSAE are parent education and engagement tools that support developmental monitoring
and help staff decide when to refer a child to other professionals for screening; they are not a replacement for
developmental screening.

The Louisiana Department of Education has partnered with the Louisiana Department of Health to offer our early
childhood networks the opportunity to co-brand and customize some of the LTSAE materials.

Try CDC’s FREE Milestone .
Tracker app today... S .
Because milestones matter!

Milestone checklists for 2 months
to 5 years

* Summary of your child’s
milestones

Activities to help your child’s
development

Tips for what to do if you have
concerns

Appointment reminders

& App Store [l P Google Play

cdc.gov/MilestoneTracker Now available in Spanish!

L "] DEPARTMENT OF
=i HEALTH


https://ldh.la.gov/index.cfm/page/139/n/139
https://sites.ed.gov/idea/regs/b/b/300.111
https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/actearly/index.html?CDC_AA_refVal=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.cdc.gov%2Factearly%2Findex.html

