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Certified Nursing Aide  

 

Certifying 
Organization 

Louisiana Department of Health (LDH)  

http://www.dhh.la.gov/cnadsw.  

Description of 
Credential 

IBC#: 010 

A Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) is an individual who has successfully completed a Nurse Aide 
Training Program (NATP) and a Competency Evaluation Program (CEP) approved by the State 
as meeting the requirements of  42 CFR 483.151 – 42 CFR 483.154 , or who has been 
determined competent as provided in 42 CFR 483.150(a) and (b).  Nurse aides meeting these 
requirements are listed as certified on the Louisiana Nurse Aide Registry. 

Background Checks on students applying for a Nurse Assistant training program.  

Per the Louisiana State Police (LSP), authorized agencies are approved to conduct background 
checks only on entities enumerated in RS 1203.1. Students are not included on that list, and 
there is no law in Louisiana that allows for background checks on students. Therefore, a Right 
to Review must be performed. According to the LSP website, 
https://ibc.dps.louisiana.gov/faq.aspx, a Right to Review is a request by an individual (the 
student) to obtain a true copy of their criminal history. It can only be conducted by the 
Louisiana State Police. An Individual may obtain a true copy of their criminal history by 
requesting a “Right to Review” in one of two ways:  
1) In Person at the LSP office (7919 Independence Blvd, Baton Rouge, Louisiana):  
You will need to bring a $26 money order, cashier’s check or business check for processing 
and a $10 money order, cashier’s check or business check for fingerprinting, both made out to 
the Department of Public Safety (cash or personal checks will not be accepted). You will need 
to have a valid state issued ID or Driver’s License. This service is available Monday thru Friday 
(excluding holidays) from 8:00 am to 3:30 pm. If you arrive before 3:00 pm you may wait and 
take your certified copy of the response with you but if you arrive after 3:00 pm your 
response will be mailed to you or you may return the next business day and pick it up. Before 
going, verify payment amount has not changed. 
2) By mail: You must mail a set of fingerprints, an authorization form, a rap disclosure form 
(these forms must include the individuals complete name and address and they are available 
online at lsp.org) and a $26 money order, cashier’s check or business check (cash or personal 
checks will not be accepted) payable to the Department of Public Safety to:  
Bureau of Criminal Identification  
P.O. Box 66614 Mail Slip A-6  
Baton Rouge, LA 70896  
Please Note: This mail process takes approximately  4-6 weeks from the time the payment is 
entered into their receipt system. Always verify that payment amount has not changed. 

Part of which 
Graduation 
Pathways 

1
 

Statewide:  Certified Nursing Assistant 

Associated with 
Which Careers? 

3 Star: Medical Assistants, Dental Assistants 

2 Star: Home Health Aides, Nursing Assistants, Occupational Therapy Aides, Pharmacy Aides, 
Physical Therapist Aides, Psychiatric Aides, Personal Care Aides 

Entry-Level Annual 
Salaries 

$16,040 – $29,310 

  

http://www.dhh.la.gov/cnadsw
http://dhh.louisiana.gov/assets/medicaid/hss/docs/NATSCFR483-150Fedregulation.pdf
http://dhh.louisiana.gov/assets/medicaid/hss/docs/NATSCFR483-150Fedregulation.pdf
http://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=108459
https://ibc.dps.louisiana.gov/faq.aspx
http://www.lsp.org/technical.html#criminal
http://www.laworks.net/stars/
http://www.laworks.net/stars/
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Industry-Based Certification Requirements:  Students 

Standard / 

Curriculum 

The Certified Nursing Aide’s curriculum requires a minimum of 80 hours (40 hours of 
classroom instruction and 40 hours of clinical instruction), plus 4 hours of orientation at the 
clinical site. However, programs may actually consist of more hours (100 hours, 150 hours, 
etc.) since completion of a training program depends on the total hours approved for that 
particular program. The age requirement is 16 years of age.  After completion of training, the 
student must pass the competency evaluation, administered by Prometric, consisting of both 
a written content component and a demonstrated skills component, to attain certification. 
Clinical training must be performed in a nursing home or on a Skilled Nursing Unit (SNF). 

Each nurse aide, at a minimum,  must be able to demonstrate competencies in:   

a) Communication and Interpersonal Skills               b) Restorative Services 

c) Safety and Emergency Procedures                         d) Resident’s Rights/Independence                                            

e) Mental Health and Social Service needs                f) Personal Care 

g) Basic Nursing Services                                                h) Heimlich Maneuver 

To get a nurse aide training program approved, the facility or school must submit an 
application and all information as specified on the LDH website 
http://www.ldh.la.gov/index.cfm/directory/detail/12588. The link “application, instructions, 
etc. for approval…” contains detailed information about program approval requirements, 
including application, training curriculum, training program responsibilities for trainees and 
providers, etc. Please allow a minimum of 90 days for approval of a new program. 
It is very important that the Nurse Aide training program reviews each candidate’s status on 
the CNA Registry, the DSW Registry, and the Sex Offender Registry, as well as the Right to 
Review, PRIOR to admission to the program. Program acceptance cannot be granted to any 
person who has a finding on the CNA or Direct Service Worker (DSW) registries, the National 
Sex Offender Registry, or who has been convicted of abusing, neglecting or mistreating the 
elderly or infirm or misappropriating resident’s property. The following are direct links to the 
regulations of Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Programs.  The LA Rule (LAC 
48:1 Chapter 100) can be accessed using the following online link:  
http://www.doa.la.gov/Pages/osr/LAC-48.aspx.  Click on “Title 48:I-XXV, Public Health--
General (Book 2 of 2),” and the NAT regulations are in Chapter 100. Use the following link for 
the federal NAT regulations Code of Federal Regulations. 
(**Please note the rule has not changed since last revision in 2012.  They are combined to 
reflect all changes** 

Testing 
Methodology 

Paper? 
computer-

based 7.1.2018. 
Online? Yes Performance Exams / Tests? Yes 

Re-Testing  

(if available) 

Retesting 
Procedures 

A person has up to 1 year and 3 
tries after training to pass both 
exam sections.  

Max 
Attempts 

Three attempts in 1 year 

  

https://www.prometric.com/en-us/clients/Nurseaide/Pages/la.aspx
http://www.ldh.la.gov/index.cfm/directory/detail/12588
https://www.nsopw.gov/
https://www.nsopw.gov/
http://www.doa.la.gov/Pages/osr/LAC-48.aspx
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Testing Details 
(including any age 
requirements / 
accommodations) 

**New Testing Procedures as of July 1, 2018: 

Beginning July 1, 2018, all students will take the same nationally standardized test through 
the testing company Prometric. See the application, testing instructions, sample test, and 
other important information on the Prometric website https://www.prometric.com/en-
us/clients/Nurseaide/Pages/la.aspx.  Schools are required to document skill proficiency check-
offs to ensure student proficiency PRIOR to performing clinical instruction, and the student is 
to receive a copy of the check-off results. AFTER completion of all training, students must take 
the written and skills competency exams to attain certification. Students will not get 
percentage results, just PASS or FAIL.  The Training Verification Form (TVF) must be submitted 
with the testing application to Prometric. Therefore, the school must have a policy/procedure 
in place that defines who is responsible for the testing and/or retesting fees. If school/school 
board will pay for the test, the application, fees, and TVF must be submitted within 10 days of 
completion of training. If student is responsible for fees, the TVF must be provided to the 
student within 10 days of completion of program. Students may choose an oral exam that 
does not require additional documentation, cost, or time.  If student requires special testing 
accommodations, the ADA Accommodations Request Packet must be submitted at least 30 
days prior to the test date with the Prometric application.  Additional information, including 
school responsibilities regarding the competency exam, can be found at 
http://www.ldh.la.gov/index.cfm/page/2767.  

Each school has option to become an in-facility (IFT) testing site, which will aid student’s 
success by allowing students to test on date chosen by school in a familiar setting. If not 
tested at IFT, test is performed at a regional site on a first-come, first-serve basis. For 
information on IFT approval, see Prometric site or click here. Certification is valid for 2 years 
after registration and then automatically renewed every 2 years, if work history has been 
reported to the Registry. If certification expires due to no work history, an aide has 1 attempt 
during the 2 years following the expiration date to retest.  Aides who fail to test during this 
two-year period are required to retrain.  Aides who do not pass both parts of the test 
(written/oral and skills) have to retrain. Aides who wish to test to reinstate certification are 
required to schedule and pay for the test through Prometric. For more information on testing 
for recertification, click here.  

Industry-Based Certification Requirements:  Teachers 

Bulletin 746, Chapter 5:  All Louisiana teachers providing instruction in a course that leads to an IBC must hold the 
certification that they’re teaching students to attain. 

Instructor 
Certification 
Requirements (by 
certifying agency) 

The Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) is responsible for the credentialing of program 
coordinators and instructors.  According to the Code of Federal Regulations, at a minimum, the 
Program Coordinator must be a registered nurse with a minimum of 2 years nursing 
experience, of which at least one year must be in the provision of long term care facility 
services. This means at least 1 year of experience in a nursing home or skilled nursing facility 
is required. Licensed Practical Nurses (LPN) s who serve as instructors must have 2 years of 
experience also in the provision of long term care facility services. All instructors must also have 
an active, unencumbered nursing license, as well as one (1) of the following: master’s degree or 
above, VTIE, CTTIE, or train-the-trainer. Be aware that, per the LAC 10017 A 2, the RN 
Coordinator must be on site of both classroom and clinical instruction at least 50% of the 
time.  

Proctoring / Test 
Security (if any) 

N/A 

Certification Tracking 

Credentialing 
Documentation 

The Louisiana Department of Health maintains a registry for individuals successfully completing 
the Nurse Aide program.  For Nurse Aide Certification questions, click here. Paper certification 
cards are no longer issued. Schools have two documentation options for submitting proof of 
CNA Industry-Based Credential (IBC) attainment: The options are:  

1) A print screen of the student’s certification, as provided in the electronic portal (LDH CNA 
registry; OR  

https://www.prometric.com/en-us/clients/Nurseaide/Pages/la.aspx
https://www.prometric.com/en-us/clients/Nurseaide/Pages/la.aspx
https://www.prometric.com/en-us/clients/nurseaide/documents/TestingAccommodationsRequestPacket.pdf
http://www.ldh.la.gov/index.cfm/page/2767
https://www.prometric.com/en-us/become-a-test-center/pages/nurse-aide-regional-testing-sites.aspx
https://www.prometric.com/en-us/clients/Nurseaide/Pages/la.aspx
http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/2260
http://dhh.louisiana.gov/assets/medicaid/hss/docs/NurseAideTraining-CodeofFederalRegulations.pdf
http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/faq/category/31
https://tlc.dhh.la.gov/
https://tlc.dhh.la.gov/
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2)  The school is required to issue a certificate of completion. The certificate is to be given 
AFTER the student passes the Prometric competency exam. The intention of the school 
certificate is for the CNA student to have proof of successful completion while waiting for their 
information to be placed on the registry so they may obtain employment. Providers must issue 
a certificate that contains the following information: 

a. The name of the Nurse Aide Training program or school; 
b. The date the program began; 
c. The date the program ended; 
d. The notation that this is a LDH Approved Program; 
e. The name of the instructor; and 
f. The signature of the coordinator and the date signed. 

 Employers are still required to verify status ONLINE. 

Certification 
Tracking System 

Online 
Tracking 
System? 

 

Yes  

 

Details 

Schools must verify trainee has no finding on CNA or 
DSW Registry prior to admission to program. Employers 
must use the LDH registry to determine if prospective 
hire is a certified nurse aide. The nurse aide will track 
certification on either of these sites: Louisiana Registry 
System or CNA/DSW Lookup .  

Other Details 
Expiration 
Timeframe? 

The nurse aide must work at least eight hours in an approved setting every 24 
months after attaining certification.   

Upon work verification, certifications will automatically renew every two years. 

For a list of FAQs, click here .  

Certification Costs / Funding Sources 

Cost Details 
Training programs, including proprietary schools, colleges and technical schools, vary in cost. 

There is no charge if the training program belongs to a nursing home.   

Re-test / Refund 
Policies  

If one part of the exam (written or clinical) is failed, only that portion must be retested.  Student 
has 3 opportunities within 1 year to pass both portions of the competency exam.  If unable to 
pass, must retrain.  

Refund policies will vary from one training program to another.   

Funding Sources 
2
 CDF? Yes  Perkins? Yes 

Alternative Source 
(other than General 
Funds) 

 

For More Information 

Certifying Agency 
Contact Info 

Ash-Leigh B. Garcia, RN, MCSII 

Medical Certification Program Manager 

LDH-Health Standards 

Telephone: (225) 342-0138, option 6, OR (225) 342-5779 

Ash-leigh.garcia@la.gov  

LDE Contact JumpStart@La.Gov    

Jump Start 
Regional Team 
Experts 

There are several course providers offering the Nurse Aide certification. See the Course Choice 
Provider Directory. There are also many school districts with successful Nurse Aide programs.  
Please contact JumpStart@La.Gov for referrals. 

For a list of Nurse Aide Training Schools, click here .  

1 – This table may not include all the graduation pathways this credential appears in.  Please check the graduation pathway you 
are working with if you have a question as to whether or not this credential is part of that pathway. Always check with 
certifying agency for latest updates. 

2 – CDF = Career Development Fund (Note that even though CDF funds may be spent on Health Care programs, nursing courses 
no longer qualify for generating CDF funds.)  

https://lars.dhh.la.gov/app/Views/Public/LogIn.aspx
https://lars.dhh.la.gov/app/Views/Public/LogIn.aspx
https://tlc.dhh.la.gov/
http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/faq/category/31
mailto:Ash-leigh.garcia@la.gov
mailto:JumpStart@La.Gov
http://www.louisianabelieves.com/docs/default-source/course-choice/provider-directory.pdf?sfvrsn=14
http://www.louisianabelieves.com/docs/default-source/course-choice/provider-directory.pdf?sfvrsn=14
mailto:JumpStart@La.Gov
http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/directory/category/172?sidx=1
http://www.louisianabelieves.com/resources/library/jump-start-graduation-pathways
http://www.louisianabelieves.com/docs/default-source/course-choice/2014-2015-jump-start-technical-course-grid.pdf?sfvrsn=10

