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 Purposes of Minor Worker Protection

To facilitate a mutually beneficial and rewarding  
experience for employers, parents and the young people 

who will become the adult workforce of tomorrow.

To prevent minors from working in hazardous                           
occupations or under conditions that could be injurious 

to their life, health, safety and/or welfare.



Minor Worker Employment Certificates

Title 23, Chapter 3, of the Louisiana Revised Statutes contains 
the laws related to employing minors.

§182 requires all employers to procure and keep on file an 
Employment Certificate for each minor employed (with very 
specific exceptions).

ECs may be issued by the Parish’s School Superintendent, a 
School Principal, or their designated representative who has 
been approved by the Louisiana Workforce Commission as an 
Issuing Officer.



2 Types of Issuing Officers
2 Types of Employment Certificates

Standard Issuing Officers
• Authorized to issue ALL 

Standard Employment 
Certificates

• (ex. summer job, after-school job with 
no formal educational component)

                    

Career and Technical 
Education Issuing Officers
• Authorized to issue CTE 

Employment Certificates to their 
students only

• (Registered student learners in job 
training programs approved and 
administered by the Louisiana 
Department of Education, Office of 
Career and Technical Education or 
Louisiana Community and Technical 
College System.)

Neither Employment Certificate is transferable. 



What’s the difference?
Standard Employment Certificate CTE Employment Certificate

• No expiration date 
• Application To Employ Minor  
• Completed and signed by:
o Employer Representative
o Parent/Guardian

• Prohibited occupations apply

• Requires termination date
• Training Memorandum 
• Completed and signed by: 

Training Station Employer
o Parent/Guardian
o Teacher-Coordinator
o Student-Trainee

• Prohibited occupations 
exemptions exist



Prohibited Occupation Exemptions
A Registered Student Learner 
with a CTE Employment 
Certificate may be exempt if:
• The hazardous work is incidental to 

training.
• The hazardous work is intermittent, for 

short periods and under direct and 
close supervision of a qualified, 
experienced person.

• Safety instruction is provided by the 
school and correlated by the employer 
with on-the-job training.

• A schedule of organized and progressive 
work processes to be performed have 
been prepared and are a part of the 
written agreement.

• The written agreement is signed by all 
parties.



What rules apply to both?

• Maximum of 3 hours per day, 18 
hours per week, when school is in 
session

• Cannot work between 7pm and 
7am, except from June 1-Labor 
Day

Under 16 years of age

• Cannot work between 11pm-5am 
prior to a school day

16 year olds 

• Cannot work between 12am and 
5am prior to a school day

17 year olds



How to become a CTE Issuing Officer
School Superintendent, Principal or other 
designated representative submits candidate’s 
name to LWC’s Minor Worker Protection Unit 

LWC sends candidate a link and login to the 
required online training course

Candidate passes the required training with a 
perfect score of 100% and receives a Certificate 
of Completion

The candidate is now an Authorized Issuing 
Officer in LWC’s database and can issue CTE 
Employment Certificates



How to issue a CTE Employment 
Certificate

CTE Teacher-Coordinator, Training Station Employer, student-trainee, and 
parent/guardian collaborate to complete the Louisiana Department of Education’s 
Training Memorandum, including the required conditions and signatures.

CTE Teacher-Coordinator completes and submits the electronic CTE Employment 
Certificate via LWC’s website.

CTE Teacher-Coordinator issues the CTE 
Employment Certificate to the 
student-trainee. The student-trainee brings 
it to the Training Station Employer.

School maintains a copy of the certificate for 3 
years.
 Employer maintains the certificate for 2 
weeks after the minor’s contract termination 
date. 



CTE Employment Certificate



Questions?






