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Certifying 
Organization Department of Motor Vehicle www.expresslane.org  

Description of 
Credential 

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Class “A” credential allows 18 year old students who have 
obtained a valid personal driver’s license (“E”) to operate any combination of vehicles, included in the 
broad classes of “B”,”C”,”D” with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more, 
provided that the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds. Students aged 
18 are allowed intrastate driving (only) of non-hazardous materials.   
Additional endorsements can be obtained with specific requirements (i.e., airbrakes, double/triple 
trailers, etc.) 

Part of which 
Graduation 
Pathways 1 

Regional: Commercial Driver 

Associated with 
Which Careers? 

5 Star: Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers; First Line Supervisors of Transportation and Material 
Movers 
4 Star: Emergency Medical Technicans and Paramedics 
3 Star: Drivers/Sales Workers; Light Truck or Delivery Service Drivers; Bus Drivers, Transit, and 
Innercity; Logging Equipment Operators; Police, Fire, and Ambulance Dispatchers 
2 Star: Ambualnce Drivers and Attendants-Except EMT; Athletes and Sports Competitors; Bus Drivers: 
School or Special Client; Couriers and Messengers; Refuse and Recyclable Material Collectors; Taxi 
Drivers and Chauffeurs 

Entry-Level Annual 
Salaries $25,640 - $32,470 

Industry-Based Certification Requirements:  Students 

Standard / 
Curriculum 

No high school curriculum is available.   
Students may obtain free CDL practice tests online.  In addition to commonly requested forms and 
driver’s license FAQs, the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles provides links to vehicle, driver, and 
business services.  For complete Information on the Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of Motor Vehicles state law RS 32:408, click here . 
Louisiana Commercial Driver’s License Manual found here .  
Students must:  
a) apply for the CDL                                                         b) have a valid Louisiana driver’s license (“E”) 
c) provide social security number                                 d) show proof of insurance 
e) get a physical examination by a certified doctor   f) take a vision screening  
g) show proof of being a Louisiana resident 

Testing Methodology Paper? No Online? **Yes  Performance Exams / Tests? *Yes 

Re-Testing 
(if available) 

Re-Test 
Procedures 

Students may take the basic knowledge test 
unlimited times without paying re-test fees 
but must wait before re-taking the test. 

Max 
Attempts 

Unlimited attempts are 
allowed with a 48 hour 
wait between testing. 

Testing Details 
(including any age 
requirements / 
accommodations) 

The age requirement is 18 and older for Intrastate CDL and 21 and older for interstate.  The number 
of written test questions may change with each type of endorsement. The passing score for the exam 
is 80% on the knowledge test. Practice Tests are available.   
* A student must pass the following 3 parts of the skills test: 
 a) vehicle inspection           b) basic controls              c) road test with a third-party tester 
The road skills test must be completed in the type of vehicle the driver will operate. 
 **Online testing takes place at a local DMV office.    

http://www.expresslane.org/
http://www.laworks.net/stars
http://www.laworks.net/stars
http://www.cdltest.co/
https://omv.dps.state.la.us/
http://omv.dps.state.la.us/Third%20Party%20Tester%20Forms/Law%20408%20012010.pdf
https://dda.edu/LA_CDL_Manual.pdf
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Industry-Based Certification Requirements:  Teachers 
Bulletin 746, Chapter 5:  All Louisiana teachers providing instruction in a course that leads to an IBC must hold the certification 

that they’re teaching students to attain. 

Instructor 
Certification 
Requirements (by 
certifying agency) 

Commercial Driver’s License courses are taught at private driving schools, vocational or technical 
schools.  No curriculum is taught in high school. 

Proctoring / Test 
Security (if any) N/A 

Certification Tracking 

Credentialing 
Documentation 

Students are handed the Commercial Driver’s License at a local Office of Motor Vehicle in their area 
upon successful completion of all testing and other requirements. 

Certification Tracking 
System 

Online Tracking 
System? Yes Details 

CDL driving records and medical records are 
tracked online at the Louisiana Office or Motor 
Vehicles.  

Other Details Expiration 
Timeframe? 

CDL licenses expire in Louisiana after 6 years. Anyone can renew up to 180 days 
before expiration.  A renewal letter is sent 90 days prior to expiration. 
A self-certification form in addition to a current physical examination and medical 
examiner’s certificate must be submitted upon renewal. 

Certification Costs / Funding Sources 

Cost Details 

a) A CDL physical is required (fee set by the medical examiner).  
b) $15 application fee.  
c) Third Party Skills test is $100 (if you provide the vehicle). NOTE: Cost for rental of a vehicle, 
discretion of the Tester/Examiner.  
d) License fee – (Cash only) $61.50 ($76.50 if you reside in Orleans Parish).  
e) Service fee is $0 - $6.00 
f) Additional endorsements - $5 each, except for motorcycle which is $8.  
g) Applicable parish fee - not to exceed $3. 
For information concerning costs, see Section I, Policy 2.00 Fees and Duration of License. 

Re-test / Refund 
Policies  No Refund 

Funding Sources 2 CDF? No Perkins? Yes Alternative Source 
(other than General Funds) 

 

For More Information 

Certifying Agency 
Contact Info 

Louisiana Department of Motor Vehicles 
7701 Independence Blvd. 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70806 
www.dmv.org 

LDE Contact JumpStart@La.Gov  

Jump Start Regional 
Team Experts TBD 

1 – This table may not include all the graduation pathways this credential appears in.  Please check the graduation pathway you 
are working with if you have a question as to whether or not this credential is part of that pathway. 

2 – CDF = Career Development Fund 

http://dpsweb.dps.louisiana.gov/Omv1.nsf/58c968bd569b099986256cdc000806eb/351d0e3133344383862564ae0068e683?OpenDocument
http://www.dmv.org/
mailto:JumpStart@La.Gov
http://www.louisianabelieves.com/resources/library/jump-start-graduation-pathways
http://www.louisianabelieves.com/docs/default-source/course-choice/2014-2015-jump-start-technical-course-grid.pdf?sfvrsn=10

