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Commercial “B” Driver’s License (CDL) 

Certifying 
Organization Department of Motor Vehicle www.dmv.org  

Description of 
Credential 

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Class “B” credential allows 18 year old students that have obtained 
a valid personal driver’s license (“E”) to operate vehicles in the classes of “C” and ”D” that are defined 
as “straight vehicles”.  This class of vehicle does not bend or have a moveable joint in the frame 
between the driver seat and the cargo.  
The gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) is 26,001 or more pounds used for intrastate driving of non- 
hazardous materials.  
Additional endorsements can be obtained with specific requirements (i.e. airbrakes, double/triple 
trailers, etc.). 

Part of which 
Graduation 
Pathways 1 

 
Regional: Commercial Driver 
 

Associated with 
Which Careers? 

4 Star: Emergency Medical Technicans and Paramedics 
3 Star: Drivers/Sales Workers; Light Truck or Delivery Service Drivers; Bus Drivers, Transit, and 
Inercity; Logging Equipment Operators; Police, Fire, and Ambulance Dispatchers 
2 Star: Ambualnce Drivers and Attendants-Except EMT; Athletes & Sports Competitors; Bus Drivers: 
School or Special Client; Couriers and Messengers; Refuse and Recyclable 

Entry-Level Annual 
Salaries   $21,520 - $22,000 

Industry-Based Certification Requirements:  Students 

Standard / 
Curriculum 

No high school curriculum is available.   
Students may obtain free CDL practice tests online.  In addition to commonly requested forms and 
driver’s license FAQs, the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles provides links to vehicle, driver, and 
business services.  For complete Information on the Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of Motor Vehicles state law RS 32:408, click here . 
Louisiana Commercial Driver’s License Manual found here .  
Students must:  
a) apply for the CDL                                                         b) have a valid Louisiana driver’s license (“E”) 
c) provide social security number                                 d) show proof of insurance 
e) get a physical examination by a certified doctor   f) take a vision screening  

 g) show proof of being a Louisiana resident 

Testing 
Methodology Paper? No Online? **Yes  Performance Exams / Tests? *Yes 

Re-Testing  
(if available) 

Re-Test 
Procedures 

Students may take the basic knowledge test 
unlimited times without paying re-test fees 
but must wait before re-taking the test. 

Max 
Attempts 

Skills test may be taken 4 
times with initial fee.  

http://www.dmv.org/
http://www.laworks.net/stars
http://www.laworks.net/stars
http://www.cdltest.co/
https://omv.dps.state.la.us/
http://omv.dps.state.la.us/Third%20Party%20Tester%20Forms/Law%20408%20012010.pdf
https://dda.edu/LA_CDL_Manual.pdf
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Testing Details 
(including any age 
requirements / 
accommodations) 

Age requirement is 18 and above for Intrastate and 21 and above for interstate. The number of 
written test questions may change with each type of endorsement.  
The passing score is 80% proficiency on the knowledge test. 
* A student must pass all 3 parts of the skills tests that include: 
 (a) vehicle Inspection 
 (b) basic controls 
 (c) road test with a third-party tester 
The road skills test must be completed in the type of vehicle the driver will operate. 
 **online testing takes place at a local DMV office 
 A practice test is available at:  www.cdltest.co/   

Industry-Based Certification Requirements:  Teachers 
Bulletin 746, Chapter 5:  All Louisiana teachers providing instruction in a course that leads to an IBC must hold the 

certification that they’re teaching students to attain. 

Instructor 
Certification 
Requirements (by 
certifying agency) 

Commercial Driver’s License courses are taught at private driving schools, vocational or technical 
schools.  No curriculum is taught in high school. 

Proctoring / Test 
Security (if any) No 

Certification Tracking 

Credentialing 
Documentation 

Students are handed the Commercial Driver’s License at a local Office of Motor Vehicle in their area 
upon successful completion of all testing and other requirements. 

Certification 
Tracking System 

Online Tracking 
System? Yes Details CDL driving records and medical records are 

tracked online at www.expresslane.org  

Other Details Expiration 
Timeframe? 

CDL licenses expire in Louisiana in 6 years. Anyone can renew up to 180 days before 
expiration. A renewal letter is sent 90 days prior to expiration. 
A self -certification form in addition to a current physical examination and medical 
examiner’s certificate must be submitted upon renewal. 

Certification Costs / Funding Sources 

Cost Details 

1. A CDL physical is required (fee set by the medical examiner).  
2. $15 application fee.  
3. Third Party Skills test is $100 (if you provide the vehicle). NOTE: Cost for rental of a vehicle, 
discretion of the Tester/Examiner.  
4. License fee – (Cash only) $61.50 ($76.50 if you reside in Orleans Parish).  
5. Service fee is $0 - $6.00 
6. Additional endorsements - $5 each, except for motorcycle which is $8.  
7. Applicable parish fee - not to exceed $3. 
For information concerning costs, see Section I, Policy 2.00 Fees and Duration of License..  

Re-test / Refund 
Policies  No Refund 

Funding Sources 2 CDF? No Perkins? Yes Alternative Source 
(other than General Funds) 

 

http://www.cdltest.co/
http://www.expresslane.org/
http://dpsweb.dps.louisiana.gov/Omv1.nsf/58c968bd569b099986256cdc000806eb/351d0e3133344383862564ae0068e683?OpenDocument
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For More Information 

Certifying Agency 
Contact Info 

Louisiana Department of Motor Vehicles 
7701 Independence Blvd. 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70806 
www.dmv.org  

LDE Contact JumpStart@La.Gov 

Jump Start 
Regional Team 
Experts 

TBD 

1 –  This table may not include all the graduation pathways this credential appears in.  Please check the graduation pathway you 
are working with if you have a question as to whether or not this credential is part of that pathway. 

2 – CDF = Career Development Fund 

http://www.dmv.org/
mailto:JumpStart@La.Gov
http://www.louisianabelieves.com/resources/library/jump-start-graduation-pathways
http://www.louisianabelieves.com/docs/default-source/course-choice/2014-2015-jump-start-technical-course-grid.pdf?sfvrsn=10

