
Office of Early Childhood Care and Education 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs): 
Act 409:  Licensure of classrooms for 3&4-year-old children in nonpublic schools 
(Revised 7/21/25) 

 

Overview 
Act 409 of the 2025 Regular Legislative Session, in making provisions to ensure the welfare of young 
children, provides child welfare and safety minimum standards for prekindergarten programs and 
institutes licensure for programs for 3- and 4-year-old children in nonpublic schools. 

LDOE License Application Questions 
Q:  What is the deadline for application for licensure by nonpublic schools serving 3- and/or 4-year-old 
children? 

A. Act 409 requires that all prekindergarten programs requiring licensure (which includes nonpublic 
schools serving 3- or 4-year-old children) shall apply for licensure no later than January 1, 2026. 

Q:  What type of license will nonpublic schools with 3- and/or 4-year-old classrooms receive from the 
LDOE? 

A. Every site applying for licensure applies for one of the following types of licenses: 
● A “type I license” is the type of license issued to an early learning site that is owned or 

operated by a church or religious organization that is qualified as a tax exempt organization 
under §501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code and that receives no state or federal funds 
directly or indirectly from any source.   

● A “type II license” is the type of license issued to an early learning site that either receives 
no state or federal funds directly or indirectly from any source or whose only source of state 
or federal funds is from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s food and nutrition programs. 

● A “type III license” is the type of license issued to an early learning site that directly or 
indirectly receives state or federal funds from any source other than the federal food and 
nutrition programs.  Type III early learning sites shall meet the performance and academic 
standards of the Early Childhood Care and Education Network regarding kindergarten 
readiness as determined by BESE. 

Q: Are there any instances in which a nonpublic school will not be required by the new legislation to be 
licensed? 

A. A nonpublic school serving only students in kindergarten and above does not need a license. 
Additionally, a nonpublic school whose prekindergarten program is accredited or provisionally 
accredited by the Louisiana Montessori Association will not need to seek a license.  

 

Louisiana Department of Education 
doe.louisiana.gov  |  P.O. Box 94064 •  Baton Rouge, LA •  70804-9064 Page 1 

https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/ViewDocument.aspx?d=1425939
http://doe.louisiana.gov/


 

Q:  What are the steps to take to apply for a license? 

A. See Chapter 7 of Bulletin 137 - Louisiana Early Learning Center Licensing Regulations (Bulletin 137) 
and the initial check list to help your site prepare to apply for a license. You may also attend any of 
a series of monthly webinars, in any order to learn more about the licensure process: 

1. The EdLink New User Account Set-Up and Access” webinar will provide the steps needed to 
set up an EdLink account–EdLink is where applications for licensure are set up.  

○ These webinars will be available Mondays, July 14-December 22, 2022, from 10 a.m. 
to 12 p.m. 

○ Participants can register for these webinars at the following links: 
■ July Registration Link   
■ August Registration Link 
■ September Registration Link 
■ October Registration Link   
■ November Registration Link 
■ December Registration Link 

2. The “Initial Licensure Process Guidance” webinar will provide information about how to 
apply for licensure, what information and documentation is needed to apply, and what to 
expect during initial inspection. 

○ This webinar will be held on the first and third Tuesdays of each month, July through 
December 2025.  The webinar can be accessed as follows: 

Webinar Date:  First and Third Tuesdays 
Webinar Time: 10:00 - 11:00 a.m. 
Webinar Link:     https://ldoe.zoom.us/j/93975346847?pwd= 

RE8CuUMbRef8cDDj35ISaHP38UUgOl.1  
Phone Number: 312 626 6799      
Meeting ID:  939 7534 6847     
Passcode:  564123  

3. The “Bulletin 137 New Provider Orientation” training offers a review and discussion of 
regulations requirements. 

○ This webinar will be held on the second Wednesday and the fourth Thursday of each 
month, July through December 2025.   

■ The webinar held on the second Wednesday of each month can be accessed 
as follows: 
Webinar Date:  Second Wednesdays 
Webinar Time: 10:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. 
Webinar Link:     https://ldoe.zoom.us/j/99265064302?pwd= 

dKarZtmFatkQNTnHbpaC51jpFjfFx5.1 
Phone Number: 312 626 6799       
Meeting ID:  992 6506 4302      
Passcode:  862567 
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■ The webinar held on the fourth Thursday of each month can be accessed as 
follows: 
Webinar Date:  Fourth Thursdays 
Webinar Time: 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. 
Webinar Link:     https://ldoe.zoom.us/j/98370205822?pwd= 

SMhxzzf5XaaLkNt7eiVMbbWuSk5lma.1 
Phone Number: 312 626 6799 
Meeting ID:       983 7020 5822 
Passcode:  890320   

Q:  Would it be possible to wait an additional year to have the requirements set forth in Act 409 
implemented? 

A. Act 409 states the following: 
● State central registry checks for all school employee applicants required by the act shall 

apply to any person hired on or after August 1, 2025.  
● All early learning centers and prekindergarten programs shall be in compliance with the 

child safety and welfare minimum standards provided for in R.S. 17:407.41 no later than 
October 1, 2025.  

● All prekindergarten programs requiring licensure as an early learning center pursuant to 
Act 409 shall apply for licensure no later than January 1, 2026.   

○ To apply for licensure, all regulations in Bulletin 137 must be in place, along with 
requirements of the State Fire Marshal and LDH (LHS 48 form) Sanitarian Services 
met.  

Q: What will happen after our application for licensing is submitted, if the Division of Licensing finds our 
site does not meet some of the requirements of Bulletin 137? 

A. If there are requirements not met during the initial licensure process, Licensing staff will work with 
the site, providing guidance, to help the site meet compliance. 

Q:  If a school was licensed in the past, prior to licensure moving under the LDOE, would the school now 
be renewing a former license or applying for a new license? 

A. If a site is not currently licensed, an application for a new license is required. 

Q:  If our Pre-K3 classrooms are already licensed in one building, do we need an additional license for 
our Pre-K4 classrooms that are located in a different building? 

A. If both the Pre-K3 and Pre-K4 classrooms are located at the same physical address and the Pre-K3 
classrooms are already licensed at that address, a new license would not be required for the site. A 
new building should be added to the license by completing an Edit Entity request in EdLink.  

If your Pre-K3 building does not currently have a license and has a separate address from other 
currently licensed space, please contact a Licensing Consultant to help determine whether the 
building(s) with a separate address can or can not be included in your current license.  

Q:  Is adding classrooms to an existing license a change of entity or change of capacity? 

A. Adding one or more classrooms to an existing license constitutes a change of entity. 
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Q:  I am the director of our current site, and I have a director designee.  If we need two separate licenses 
for our school, can I or my director designee serve as the director for both licenses? 

A. Yes, if two separate licenses are required for your school, a qualified director or director designee 
can serve as the director for both licenses, as long as there is an on-site, full-time staff person at 
the school during the daytime hours of operation. 

Q:  If our site needs two separate licenses, will we be able to combine our Pre-K3 and Pre-K4 students 
for certain activities and before/after care, or will they always need to be separated?  

A. If the site needs separate licences, the children from the separate licenses will need to be kept 
separate from each other. 

Q:  If our site will be licensing additional space, besides space already licensed at our site, will our 
license renewal date change? 

A. If adding additional space to a license, your site’s renewal date will remain the same, because your 
site will be adding new information (such as a new building) onto an existing license.  For example, 
if your current license expires in August 2026 but you submit an Edit Entity change request in 
EdLink in December 2025, to add additional space to the license, your licensing renewal date will 
remain August 2026. 

LDH Sanitarian Services and State Fire Marshal Approval Questions 
Q:  What are the LDH requirements to be recommended for licensing? 

A. LDH requirements can be found in Title 51 PUBLIC HEALTH―SANITARY CODE: Part XXI. Day Care 
Centers and Residential Facilities (see page 543 within the document).   

Also see the LDH Sanitarian Services Review Questionnaire, which is the packet to be submitted to 
the local Sanitarian Office when a site seeks early childhood licensing.  Completed questionnaires 
should be submitted to the local sanitarian office for the parish where the early learning site is 
located. 

Q:  What are the State Fire Marshal requirements to be recommended for licensing? 

A. The State Fire Marshal will continue to inspect schools under the same codes by which they are currently 
inspecting; consequently, if the building has been passing inspection as a school, it should continue passing 
inspection as a center.  

If there is new construction or if there is a change of use (e.g., a former strip mall is being converted into a 
school or center), current requirements will be applied to inspection of that structure. Certain grandfathering 
provisions applied to older/historic structures will remain in place as long as the use of the structure 
remains the same.  

For questions, contact the Office of State Fire Marshal in either of the following regions:  
● Zone A (225, 985, and 504 area codes):  (318)767-6099 
● Zone B (318 and 337 area codes):   (800)256-5452 

Q: What steps will we need to take to obtain fire marshal approval for the site? 

A. The Office of the State Fire Marshal will conduct your annual site inspection according to its 
current schedule. Proposed revisions to Bulletin 137 will provide that an up-to-date annual school 
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inspection will satisfy the requirement for Fire Marshal approval in the initial year. For subsequent 
years, licensed site inspections will coincide with school inspections, and documentation will be 
submitted to the LDOE with the renewal application.  

A nonpublic school can ask the Fire Marshal to combine the inspection of the school space and the 
early childhood licensed space for the same date.  Please be sure to notify the Fire Marshal in 
advance that your site now also requires inspection for its early learning space and that your 
certificate will need to state that the designated space is “acceptable for licensing.”  

When making your request, please include as a contact e-mail address the school e-mail address 
and not the address for a personal e-mail address. 

Contact the Office of the State Fire Marshal with further questions. 

Licensing Regulations Questions 
Q:  When will the existing version of Bulletin 137 (April 2025) be updated to reflect the new regulations? 

A. Updating BESE policy follows the rule promulgation process in the Administrative Procedure Act 
and requires BESE approval. If BESE approves the revised regulations at the August meeting, the 
bulletin could be updated as early as December 20, 2025; however, the process could also take 
more time than that depending on several factors.  

Q:  Can our site have staff complete a mandated reporter training of our choosing for elementary and 
Pre-K programs? 

A. All staff members of a licensed early childhood program are required annually to complete the 
online child abuse and neglect Mandated Reporter Training provided by the Department of 
Children and Family Services (DCFS).   

In regard to training for elementary program staff, Children’s Code (CHC 609.A(3)(d)) says that an 
employer may provide equivalent training as approved by the Department of Children and Family 
Services.  

Q:  How is the usable space of a site determined? 

A. The indoor space used for children, such as the classrooms, will be measured as length of the room 
times width of the room and then divided by 35 to determine the maximum capacity.  

Q:  What is the minimum of square footage of usable indoor space that shall be available per child? 

A. A minimum of 35 square feet of usable indoor space shall be available per child younger than age 
4. A licensed site may request approval from the Office of State Fire Marshal and the LDOE that, 
for children ages four and above, a minimum of 25 square feet of usable indoor space shall be 
available per child.  Proposed Bulletin 137 revisions would allow for the 25 square footage rule to 
apply as early as August 1 each school year, if all children in the classroom will be age 4 by 
September 30 of that school year.  

 

Louisiana Department of Education                       
doe.louisiana.gov  |  P.O. Box 94064 •  Baton Rouge, LA •  70804-9064 Page 5 

http://doe.louisiana.gov/


 

Q:  What processes will our school have to follow at drop-off and pick-up time?  Does Bulletin 137 allow 
an early learning site to use a carpool line, or do parents have to park and enter the school building to 
drop off and pick up three- and four-year-old children? 

A. Licensed sites are required to maintain a daily attendance record for children that shall include the 
child’s first and last name, arrival and departure times, date, and first and last name of person or 
entity to whom the child is released.  The Department will provide a sample form that may be used 
in carpool lines, that will be easy to complete, in order to meet this regulation. 

Q:  Does the site's cafeteria need to be licensed by the state in order for children to be able to use this 
facility?  

A. No, the cafeteria does not need to be licensed by the state if it is only used by children 4 and under 
for dining. If the cafeteria is also used for daily learning activities by the early learning site, then it 
will need to be included in the licensed space. 

The teacher:child ratio and supervision must be maintained for the children served in the licensed 
programs, even when in unlicensed spaces. 

Q:  Will Pre-K4 children be able to attend our weekly school Masses with the rest of the school, as they 
do now?   

A. Travel across the school grounds to an unlicensed area shall be considered a non-vehicular 
excursion that requires written parental authorization.  The LDOE will be providing the form to be 
used for gathering this authorization.  Authorization shall include the name of the child, type and 
location of the activity, date and signature of the parent, and shall be updated at least annually. 

The teacher:child ratio and supervision must be maintained for the children served in the licensed 
programs, even when in unlicensed spaces. 

Q:  Our Pre-K4 students have 7th grade buddies that they meet with periodically throughout the year 
and sit with during Mass: will that still be allowed?  

A. The Department is proposing adding to Bulletin 137 a definition for “Student Mentors,” for students 
who are enrolled at the school that is associated with the center and are present in the early 
learning classroom of the school in a mentoring role.   

Student Mentors shall not be left alone with children, outside of supervision of licensed center 
staff, and shall not be counted in the child to staff ratio.   

Q:  Will Pre-K3 and Pre-K4 children still be able to attend school assemblies and/or utilize the school 
gymnasium? 

A. Travel across the school grounds to an unlicensed area (including the school’s main office) shall be 
considered a non-vehicular excursion that requires written parental authorization.  The LDOE will 
be providing the form to be used for gathering this authorization.  Authorization shall include the 
name of the child, type and location of the activity, date and signature of the parent, and shall be 
updated at least annually. 

The teacher:child ratio and supervision must be maintained for the children served in the licensed 
programs, even when in unlicensed spaces. 
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Q:  For Non-Vehicular Excursions such as going to church or the gymnasium, must our site meet ratio + 1 
staff member?   

A. The additional adult is not needed as long as the travel to the church or gymnasium is within a 
space enclosed with a permanent fence or other barrier to prevent children from traffic hazards, 
leaving the premises alone, or contact with animals or unauthorized persons.   

Q.  What additional considerations will we need to make when scheduling field trips? 

A. For a site to be able to conduct field trips, “transportation” must be included on the site license and the site 
would need to be compliance with the requirements under §2101,  2105, 2017.B. of Bulletin 137, such as 
parental authorizations, maintaining record of each field trip, conducting and documentation of visual 
passenger checks.  

Q:  If schools require that the parents drive their own children on field trips, does “transportation” still 
need to be included on the site license? 

A. Transportation still must be on the license because, per Bulletin 137, Chapter 21 “Minimum 
Transportation Requirements and Standards” includes transportation that is Center-Provided, 
Parent-Provided or Contracted Transportation Drivers. 

Q:  Are Pre-K3 and Pre-K4 children allowed to walk down school hallways to go to the bathrooms 
located in the school? 

A. Yes, as long as Supervision is met. 

Q:  Can a Pre-K classroom be located on the 2nd or 3rd floor of a building? 

A. A Pre-K classroom can be located on the 2nd or 3rd floor of a building as long as all requirements 
are met, including Department of Health and Office of State Fire Marshal. 

Q:  For early learning centers large enough that they need a dedicated director, can the director be a 
current school administrator even though the administrator has other duties outside of the early 
learning center license?  Or does this person have to be dedicated strictly to the licensed center? 

A. The director can be a current school administrator as long as he or she is responsible for planning, 
managing, and controlling the center’s daily activities, as well as responding to parental concerns, 
and ensuring the licensing requirements are met. When there are more than 42 children in care, 
the director can only perform administrative duties. 

Q:  Licensing Regulations (found in Bulletin 137) state that three-year-old children must rest for 75 
minutes.  What are the requirements for 4-year-old children? 

A. Children ages four and five shall be offered the opportunity for daily quiet time. 

Q:  For the minimum 12 clock hours of continuing education per site anniversary year required for staff 
members of early learning sites, where do we find the approved list of providers? 

A. Providers may complete Department-approved self-paced, online training (through the “EC Learn” 
Professional Learning Suite platform) provided by the LDOE or utilize an in-person trainer from the 
LDOE Early Childhood registry of approved trainer (i.e., Pathways-approved trainers).  
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Q:  What kind of training topics count toward the minimum 12 clock hours of continuing education per 
site anniversary year required for staff members of early learning sites? 

A. Continuing education hours for early learning staff shall be in the areas of child development, child 
guidance, child abuse prevention, emergency preparation, licensing regulations, learning activities, 
health and safety, shaken baby prevention, CPR, first aid, and/or management/administrative. 

Q:  Can sites use existing trainers for the CPR and Pediatric First Aid trainers, or will sites need to use 
specific trainers? 

A. Sites can use existing trainers for CPR and Pediatric First Aid. Documentation of the certification 
must indicate the CPR and PFA training was completed. If a CPR/PFA course was completed online, 
there must be a live demonstration by the instructor and then a demonstration by the participant as 
well. 

Q:  What training is required for substitute teachers and parent volunteers? 

A. Please see the following sections of Bulletin 137 regarding required training for substitute 
teachers: §1719. Orientation, §1721. Continuing Education, §1725 Medication Administration 
Training, §1723. CPR and First Aid Certifications, and §1727 Child Neglect and Abuse Mandatory 
Reporter Training.  

There is no required training for parents who volunteer in their child’s class periodically. If a parent 
is in the early learning site daily volunteering, then he or she will be considered staff and will need 
to meet all requirements for a staff member. 

Q:  Current Pre-K3  at our school requires students to be potty trained before beginning Pre-K3. Will we 
be allowed to continue to enforce this rule? 

A. Bulletin 137 requires that children shall be changed and cleaned immediately following a toileting 
accident and that staff shall respond promptly to a request from a child for toileting assistance. 

Q:  Will a nonpublic school need to notify the LDOE of temporary closures due to school holidays? 

A. Yes, notification will need to be made of closures due to school holidays. A one-time e-mail to the 
assigned Licensing Consultant can be sent at the beginning of the school year, listing all closures 
due to school holidays. 

CCCBC and Fingerprinting Questions 
Q:  What is a CCCBC? 

A. A CCCBC, or Child Care Criminal Background Check, is a specific background check that must be 
completed for anyone who owns, operates or participates in the governance of an early learning 
center, or is employed by an early learning center as a volunteer, staff member, employee or 
independent contractor of any kind, or is employed by an entity identified in Bulletin §1809 as an 
employee or contract employee that provides services in early learning centers when children are 
present    
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The CCCBC must also be submitted through the LDOE CCCBC system.  Guidance on how to submit 
a CCCBC application, including how to pay for fingerprinting, where to get fingerprinted, and what 
codes to provide when getting fingerprinted, will be shared in the bimonthly “Initial Licensure 
Process Guidance” webinars held on the first and third Tuesdays of each month, July through 
December 2025.  Other guidance can also be found here. 

Q:  Will all employees who work with 3- and 4-year-old children, in any capacity, be required to have a 
CCCBC (a Child Care Criminal Background Check)? 

A. There must be a CCCBC-based determination of eligibility for child care purposes from the 
Department for each volunteer, staff member, or employee of any kind–including bus drivers, 
substitute teachers, enrichment teachers, school secretaries or anyone else–who is left alone with 
children or who has supervisory or disciplinary authority over the children.  

Staff members who are left alone with children or have supervisor or disciplinary authority over 
children must also have a minimum of three clock hours of continuing education in job-related 
topics per site anniversary year. 

Q:  Will anyone providing before or after care for children 4 and younger be required to be fingerprinted 
and receive the Child Care Criminal Background Check (CCCBC)? 

A. Yes, a CCCBC-based determination of eligibility for child care purposes as well as other personnel 
records are required for anyone providing before and/or after care for children.  

Q:  For the CCCBC, can our existing school fingerprinting system be used to fingerprint all staff (K-12 
teachers as well as early learning center staff), since the fingerprinting requirements are all the same 
now?   

A. Idemia/IdentoGO is the sole authorized provider of fingerprinting services for the CCCBC. When 
completing fingerprinting for Louisiana early learning centers, please ensure that applicants use 
the service code 27N4H8. Failure to use the correct service code will prevent the Department from 
receiving your fingerprint results and processing your CCCBC.  

If your school has a fingerprinting machine provided by Idemia/IdentoGO, Idemia now authorizes 
the use of the CCCBC early learning center’s service code 27N4H8 on school board fingerprinting 
machines, effective immediately, contingent upon the school’s approval.  

Q: Do the current Pre-K3 and Pre-K4 teachers who have already been fingerprinted but did not go 
through the CCCBC need to be re-fingerprinted to be run through the CCCBC system? 

A. Federal regulations only allow for fingerprint-based Criminal Record History Information (CHRI) to 
be used for a single designated purpose. Sharing CHRI for noncriminal justice uses, such as for 
both employment and teacher certification purposes, is not permitted. The Criminal Background 
Check (CBC) required for teacher certification is distinct from the Child Care Criminal Background 
Check (CCCBC) used for employment in early learning sites. One background check cannot be 
used for both employment and certification purposes, as this is prohibited by both the FBI and the 
Louisiana State Police. It is recommended that inquiry be made as to whether multiple 
fingerprinting for separate purposes can be taken on occasion of one appointment. 
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School Procedure Questions 
Q:  Will our school need to change its current process, in which Independent Contractors sign in at the 
central office and receive passes?  This allows us to monitor campus security and ensure visitor 
accountability. 

A. In this scenario, the school would not need to change the current process for signing in at the 
central office and receiving a pass.  Note, however, that while in the licensed space, Independent 
Contractors must be accompanied by an early learning center staff member not counted in child to 
staff ratio or have a CCCBC-based determination of eligibility for child care purposes.  

Q:   Does our school need to follow separate daily sign-in procedures for Pre-Kindergarten program 
staff v. other school staff? 

A.  The daily attendance staff log can be combined and located in a central office location as long as 
the log can be provided during a monitoring inspection: it does not have to be stored in the licensed 
space. A best practice is having a separate attendance log sheet for the early learning staff, to 
minimize confusion and record review during monitoring visits. 

Q:  Some schools have full-time nurses located near the office, which may be outside the designated 
“licensed area.”  Will children from the pre-kindergarten programs be allowed to visit the nurse’s 
office? 

A. Yes, the Pre-K children would be allowed to visit the nurse’s office. The school’s nurse would need a 
CCCBC-based determination of eligibility for child care purposes. The children should be 
accompanied, to and from the nurse’s office, by a staff member with a CCCBC-based determination 
of eligibility for child care purposes. 

Q:  Under “temporary closure” in Bulletin 137, if the whole school closes, does the licensed area still 
have to notify LDOE individually? 

A.  Yes, if the whole school closes the licensed early learning space needs to notify the LDOE Division 
of Licensing of the temporary closure by sending an e-mail notification to the site’s assigned 
Licensing Consultant or to ldelicensing@la.gov.  

Q:  Can Pre-K3 and Pre-K4 children attend established before and after care at the school? 

A. Yes, Pre-K3 and Pre-K4 children can attend before and after care at the school, as long as Bulletin 
137 rules and regulations still apply to the before and/or after care provided. 

Q:  Would the use of electronic devices be permitted for our school’s Summer Camp activities? 

A. Yes, electronic devices can be used for Summer Camp activities, but the time allowed for 
electronic device activities for children ages two and above shall not exceed two hours per day, 
with the exception that television, DVD, or video viewing shall be limited to no more than one hour 
per day. See Bulletin 137 Section 1509. A.9 for more information.  
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General Questions 
Q:  Are there any consultants that can help walk a school through the licensure process? 

A. Yes, a Licensing Consultant will be available to answer questions via phone (225-342-9905) or 
e-mail (ldelicensing@la.gov).  In addition, the Department will offer bimonthly webinars regarding 
the licensure process. 

Q:  I know many early learning centers use attendance tracking systems such as Brightwheel, but I was 
hoping not to have to purchase this software. Are there any no-cost options for attendance tracking 
software available?   

A. CenterTrack is a free Child Care Management System (CCMS) offered Louisiana providers may 
obtain and use to track attendance.  For more information about CenterTrack, contact 
centertrackla@kindersystems.com.  

Q:  Are there forms and templates related to Licensing processes and guidelines available?   

A. Sample forms can be found on the Department's website under Licensed Center Forms. 

Q:  If a staff member cannot attend the technical assistance webinars because of their work 
responsibilities when the webinars are held, will recordings of the webinars be available? 

A.  In August 2025 the Department will be adding to the website and sharing with schools recordings 
of webinars. 

Q:  How does the LDOE plan to accommodate the increase in licensing applications (initial and renewal 
applications), as well as changes to entity, site capacity, etc., that will come with the increase in sites 
required to be licensed? 

A. The LDOE will be hiring additional Licensing Specialists and other staff to ensure timely 
processing for child care sites and nonpublic school sites. 

Q:  Act 409 requires that no later than September thirtieth of each year each site shall submit a list to 
the LDOE of all teaching providers employed by the entity and identify the employees that have 
complied with the training requirements and those employees that have not complied.  Can the date for 
the list submission be pushed back to the end of October to allow for in-person training? 

A. The mandatory reporter training report shall be submitted to the LDOE beginning with the 
2026-2027 school year, so there will be sufficient time for all required staff to complete the 
training prior to September 30, 2026. 

Q:  How can our site obtain a copy of “The Safety Box” from the Louisiana Office of the Attorney 
General's e-mail, as it is updated? 

A. The Louisiana Office of the Attorney General issues a quarterly newsletter called “The Safety Box,” 
which contains information on recalled children’s products and toy hazard recalls received from the 
Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC).  Please note that any items listed as recalled must 
be immediately removed from the early learning premises. The Safety Box Newsletters can be 
found at https://www.ag.state.la.us/Safetybox.  
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Q:  During summer, can camp programs use the rooms assigned to the early learning center if the early 
learning center program is not in session? 

A. No, once a license is issued for a location, any care, including summer or holiday camps, provided 
in the licensed space for children under the age of five must be included under the license and 
meet licensing regulations.  
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